frequently-asked-questions

What is gluten?

Gluten is a type of protein found in wheat, barley, rye, spelt, kamut and triticale. Baked goods, pasta, and breakfast cereals are main sources of gluten. Some soups, sauces, gravies and confectionary items may also contain gluten. It’s best to carefully read ingredient lists, and look for allergen statements declaring that a product either contains or may contain wheat.

Why eat a gluten-free diet?

Those people with Celiac Disease or gluten-sensitivity need to avoid foods containing gluten, as consuming gluten damages  the lining of the small intestine and results in the inability to absorb nutrients in the body. This causes malnourishment and can lead to serious, long-term health conditions.

Who is affected?

According to the Canadian Celiac Association (CCA), about 2,300,000 Canadians need gluten-free products for medical reasons. The National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA) reports that an estimated 1 in 133 Americans are affected by Celiac Disease and 83% of people with Celiac Disease are undiagnosed or misdiagnosed.

How is gluten-free certified?

Inspired by Happiness products bear the mark of the Gluten-Free Certification Program (GFCP) which certifies facilities once they have successfully completed a third-party audit. This is the first joint certification launched, which combines the endorsement of both the Canadian Celiac Association (CCA) and the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA) in the US. The GFCP audit verifies that a facility is able to consistently manufacture safe gluten-free products. Our products must fall below 10ppm of gluten, as required by GFCP. The Canadian and US regulations require gluten free manufacturers to produce products that fall below 20ppm of gluten.
So, our products are guaranteed to be a safer choice for those avoiding gluten.

For more information, visit: www.glutenfreecertification.ca or www.gf-cert.org/.

What foods are gluten-free?

It may seem difficult to maintain a gluten-free diet, however, there are several naturally gluten-free foods such as fruits, vegetables, meat and poultry, fish and seafood, dairy and beans, legumes and nuts that do not contain gluten. Additionally, while grains containing gluten are NOT a part of a gluten-free diet, there are several grains that can be enjoyed by those with a gluten-free diet, including some grains are ground into flours and used in gluten-free baking. These grains include:

  • rice
  • cassava
  • corn (maize)
  • soy
  • potato
  • tapioca
  • beans
  • sorghum
  • quinoa
  • millet
  • buckwheat groats (also known as kasha)
  • arrowroot
  • amaranth
  • teff
  • flax
  • chia
  • yucca
  • gluten-free oats
  • nut flours

What kind of gluten-free labeling should I look for?

Look for the mark of the Gluten-Free Certification Program (GFCP), which you’ll find on Inspired by Happiness products. In addition to the ingredients listed above, it’s important to know that “wheat-free” doesn’t necessarily mean “gluten-free.”

What kind of precautions should I take to ensure my food is gluten-free?

Cross-contact or cross-contamination, one of the largest precautions to be aware of when following a gluten-free diet, occurs when foods or ingredients come into contact with gluten. This generally occurs through shared utensils or a shared cooking/storage environment.

Some common points of cross-contact include toasters, fried foods in oil shared with breaded products, shared containers that contain or once contained gluten-containing products, “double-dipped” condiments, airborne wheat flour, bulk bins at the grocery store and non-certified baked goods.

Inspired by Happiness products are packaged individually so cross-contamination is less likely to occur.

celiac.org/live-gluten-free/gluten-free-diet/food-options/

celiac.org/live-gluten-free/gluten-free-diet/sources-of-gluten.

OH NO!  I can’t find your delicious cakes in my favourite/favorite local grocery store, what can I do?

Share the happiness! Click here to fill out our quick & easy Store Request Form. It takes about 10 seconds to fill out (really!) then take it with you on your next shopping trip and give it to the In-store Bakery Staff.